Kindness 365

I must admit that I’ve been procrastinating on this project for a while. It’s such a simple idea, and yet the practicality of committing myself to 365 kindnesses is a bit overwhelming. (What if I’m sick at home all day or … I get stuck in an elevator?) But then again, I think anything worth doing is daunting at the start. I love Amy Krouse Rosenthal’s gorgeous ‘Thought Bubble: Kindness’ video (see above), and I find asking myself the question ‘How do I want to be remembered?’ is a very powerful motivator to stop procrastinating and start doing.

Originally I thought I would focus on being kind to strangers but I think there is something to the saying that true kindness begins at home, with family and friends. And I don’t want to forget mother nature, either. So with all that in mind here are my ideas so far:

  • Smile therapy: Make a conscious effort to smile and say hello to everyone – within reason!
  • Caffiene fix: Pay for someone’s coffee
  • Volunteer (Aussies check out thisGo Volunteer)
  • Write a kind note and stick it somewhere lots of people will see it  (OperationBeautiful)
  • Gratitude: Write a thank you note to someone I am grateful for
  • Go green: Clean up rubbish on my block
  • She’s Electric: Use no lights for a day 
  • Flower Power: Give flowers to someone who needs cheering up
  • Donate blood (Australian Red Cross Blood Donation)
  • Pay someone’s bus fare
  • Cook for someone
  • Donate food/clothing/materials to a charity
  • Give food to a homeless person
  • Visit someone in a retirement home
  • Offer to babysit for someone who really needs a night off
  • Party for a cause: Plan or attend an event to raise money for a worthy cause (Everyday Hero)
  • Complimentary compliments: when you think something nice about someone, say it
  • Hug therapy: Give friends and family hugs today
  • Miles of smiles: make smile stones and leave them for others to find
  • Vending bending: Leave change for a snack taped to a vending machine
  • Microvolunteering: head to sparked, online volunteering for busy people.
  • $10 Challenge: Give a stranger $10.

And this is hopefully where you can help me out. Can you think of a small act of kindness that might bring some extra happiness to someone else? What simple gesture would brighten or has brightened your day?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dionna @ Code Name: Mama
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 00:32:30

    I’m glad you wandered over and found my list of 155 acts of kindness – I hope they help you this year! (http://codenamemama.com/2011/02/28/155-ideas/) I will look forward to your updates – and please join us as we conclude our “March of Kindness” (http://codenamemama.com/2011/02/27/march-of-kindness/) – we’re updating daily on my Facebook page!

    Reply

  2. Lexy Raine
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 05:44:15

    Great ideas! I especially like “Complimentary compliments: when you think something nice about someone, say it” I always try to do this…even if it does feel a little awkward saying nice things to complete strangers.

    That video was super cute too. I will definitely need to use that one on my blog. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Does kindness attract kindness? « yearofkindness
  4. Trackback: Kindness Army: Now Recruiting « yearofkindness
  5. Trackback: Kindness | MONICA KADE

Leave a Reply

