Set Yourself Free

“To forgive is to set a prisoner free and discover that the prisoner was you. You will know that forgiveness has begun when you recall those who hurt you and feel the power to wish them well.” ~ Lewis B. Smedes

Days 28-30: On Sunday I bought a Big Issue from a very friendly homeless man and had a chat to him about the beauty of Sydney and of all things, the Royal Wedding. I must admit this exchange secretly made me think of a Seinfeld episode when the characters are very bemused by a homeless man that talks about current television shows: “If he’s homeless, how does he watch TV?”

On Monday I put money in several parking metres that were about to expire. As I was leaving I noticed a parking attendant approaching and for the first time ever actually felt quite happy to see one, knowing I had prevented several people from being fined.

Today’s kindness was a little more personal, and a lot more difficult. I forgave someone for a past wrong I had been holding onto for some time. My forgiveness of this person was initially a kindness to them, but in hindsight it was an even bigger kindness to myself. While I have made the conscious choice to surround myself only with people who add to my life, I have to remember that I will be doing myself a favour if I can forgive those who may have taken more than they gave, and wish them well. Holding onto negative thoughts and emotions is always far more damaging to yourself than anyone you are supposedly directing them at. And yet when it comes to forgiveness, even knowing you are stuck in a cage of your own creation, sometimes the hardest part is setting yourself free.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kris
    May 04, 2011 @ 19:49:13

    Cat, This is probably my favorite post of all! Your writing is beautiful and familiar and it seems like we are just having a conversation.. 🙂

    Reply

  2. happydancecat
    May 07, 2011 @ 19:40:41

    Thankyou Kris, you know how much I appreciate it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

