Love the Rain (and Other Wisdom from Strangers)

Over the last few days little pearls of wisdom have been spilling forth from strangers in the most random of places, and each one has inspired a different act of kindness.

1. Thoughts create words create reality. On Saturday at the beginning of a gym class my instructor told us she was having a terrible morning, she was a magnet for things going wrong and all she needed now was for the “stupid microphone” not to work. Having also attended the previous class (sometimes I’m a little crazy that way), I knew the microphone was working perfectly well. But sure enough, she spent ten minutes flipping switches before exclaiming “It’s not working, as usual.” She then spent the rest of the class in turn shouting instructions and complaining about having to shout. She was so frustrated that she kept messing up the choreography. All day I thought about how easy it is to be your own worst enemy and not even realise it. I decided to make a conscious effort to be kinder to myself over the weekend. I did things that make me feel calm and happy – catching up with friends, exercising, meditating, eating well, reading, cooking… I also bought all my fruit and vegetables from a local organic market – to my great amusement the Englishman who was running the market told me I was “doing a jolly good thing for the environment but more importantly a jolly good thing for your health”.

2. Your life should love you. On Monday while I was in a shop, a fairly successful-looking woman was asked what she did for work. She laughed and gave the most amazing response I’ve ever heard: “I do whatever work loves me.” When asked what she meant, she listed an assortment of different jobs which she claimed all had one common element – they made her feel appreciated, valued, talented and loved. The lady went on to say that this was also true of people she had in her life – “How could anyone ever expect to be happy if they choose to spend time with people or work that doesn’t love them?” Of course we all know it is true, but as friend recently told me quite matter-of-factly, “Sometimes I think if I let go of every person who let me down, there wouldn’t be many people left.” I can empathise with this so strongly. But I realise more and more each day that it’s better to be surrounded by a few people that truly love you than many who don’t. Following on from this lesson I decided to make someone else feel loved and I wrote a gratitude card to my amazing friend R. She is constantly inspiring me, making me consider things from a different perspective and encouraging me to have unwavering faith in myself and the universe.

3. Love the rain. Today while waiting for my daily caffeine fix, I noticed a little girl (around five) sitting at the window of the cafe watching the rain outside. All around her us adults were complaining to each other about the cold, wet weather. This little girl, however, had a different take on things, bouncing excitedly in her seat as the raindrops fell heavier and heavier, and saying quietly: “Hello, rain! I love you. Thankyou for making the flowers grow.” If only we could maintain children’s natural ability to find such joy in things. This little girl inspired my ‘piece de resistance’ for this week (if not month): I went around to every unit on my floor (25 in total) and left a flower and a note on the doorstep reading “A random act of kindness to brighten a gloomy day.” Strange how nervous this made me – I did it so hastily you would think I was robbing the places. Maybe my last flower incident has traumatised me. I didn’t want to get “caught”; didn’t want to be judged; didn’t want to answer suspicious and ungrateful questions. I just wanted to imagine that each person came home after a stressful, rainy day to find a lovely bright flower on their doorstep that made them smile and wonder.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Love the Rain (and Other Wisdom from Strangers) (via yearofkindness) « curemytoxicmind
  2. Eric Winger
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 02:51:34

    A flower given smells as nice as a flower received. Maybe nicer.

    Jolly good things you’re doing!

    Reply

  3. Lexy Raine
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 05:33:03

    I wish there was a “love” button! That little girl talking to the rain is just so precious and you leaving the flowers with that absolutely perfect note is so inspiring and just plain awesome!!! 🙂

    Reply

    • happydancecat
      Jun 05, 2011 @ 22:27:05

      Yeah, she was pretty gorgeous. Thanks, Lexy. Who knows what they thought recieving it but hopefully someone appreciated it rather than just thinking it was odd!

      Reply

  4. Maria
    Jun 04, 2011 @ 20:34:53

    What an amazing person you are!! I am really getting fonder of you and your blog with your every post:)

    I wish I was amongst those lucky ones to be receiving that kind note 🙂

    and so true how we forgot to love ourselves and appreciate those little joys that came our way, always in quest of bigger things!

    Reply

  5. happydancecat
    Jun 05, 2011 @ 22:30:49

    Thankyou, Maria, that’s very sweet. 🙂

    I wish everyone I tried to be kind to was as appreciative as you!

    Yes, it’s hard not to get caught up in the craziness that is life but I’m all about happiness through “little things”!

    Reply

  6. Lesh @ TheMindfulFoodie
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 10:37:24

    You sound like an amazing person! This post made me feel warm and fuzzy inside. Thanks for brightening my day 🙂

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Kindness Army: Now Recruiting « yearofkindness
  8. Stephanie
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 02:32:39

    Hi Cat!!

    I’m Rachel’s Auntie Stephanie. She shared your mission with me and I must say I am inspired!! Thank you for keeping kindness alive in this world.

    I shared your blog and goal for today on my FB page. I expect a whole lotta random acts of kindness occurring any minute now. Perhaps we’ll all feel the shift around the world.

    With blessings,
    Stephanie

    Reply

    • happydancecat
      Jul 14, 2011 @ 08:48:31

      Hi Stephanie! So great to “meet” you! Thankyou for reading and spreading the kindness ripples yourself! The world certainly feels as if its shifting to me. 🙂

      Reply

  9. Trackback: Love the Rain (and Other Wisdom from Strangers) (via yearofkindness) « Eluria Obscura

Leave a Reply

