Rainy Day Smiles

Lots of very simple things become far more complicated when it’s raining. Like getting to work via public transport without being completely saturated (epic fail). Or getting a decent nights sleep without having a leaky ceiling drip on your face (epic, epic fail). But there’s one thing that is surprisingly, much easier in bad weather: being kind. The last few days in Sydney have been ridiculously rainy, windy and cold. Everyone is reluctantly trudging along through it and there is a certain atmosphere of grumpiness and ready-for-summerness, which in a weird way actually brings everyone together.

Yesterday I offered to share my umbrella with someone who was caught in the rain without one. I discovered this is one of those very rare kindnesses that people generally accept with minimum wariness and maximum gratitude. And today, I decided to try my luck with a kindness that usually has very little success in Sydney – smiling at people as they walked past. But the funny thing is, today as we struggled with umbrellas turning inside out and buses sending waves of water splashing onto us, I found that strangers in the rain also laugh and smile together far more than those in the sunshine. Read into that what you will!

This week I also babysat for my lovely friends K and J and bought a coffee for a guy who looked like his eyes might actually pop out of his head at the very idea of it. Once he had recovered, he remarked that he would make sure he was at the coffee shop at the exact same time tomorrow. Nice try! I also did the following things I usually don’t make time for: went to a dance class, said yes to every dessert I was offered (and worked very hard not to feel any guilt about it!), did a yoga/meditation class and spent several hours reading a good book with no interruptions. I didn’t realise how long it had been since I had done many of these things – they seem so little but the happiness they create is pretty big!

And in one of those wonderful twists the universe likes to organise sometimes, this weekend I am invited to a Kindness Conference (who knew there was such a thing?) and the topic is A Time For Renewal: The World Can Only Change From Within. Yes, that’s right, a whole two-days of talks and techniques from professional (and international) kindness crusaders on how and why to be kinder to yourself. So I will definitely report back to you on that one.

I hope you’re all doing well with the kindness to self challenge. And if you’re caught in the rain this week too, remember you can always create your own sunshine just by smiling!

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Subhadip Ghosh
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 23:14:37

    Prolonged rain always makes me thoughtful! The time I always like to spend alone, sitting by the window and watch as the rain falls or reading a good book (Exact opposite what people usually want, they seek their partners!).
    There is something about rain!

    Reply

  2. nicolefilosa
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 00:17:10

    Love the idea of a kindness conference! Wonder if we have them in the US?

    Reply

  3. 12 Novels in 12 Months
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 00:37:15

    I love rainy days! It seems counter-intuitive but I find the same thing happens. Maybe people are more appreciative of the little things or they’re more open to a stranger’s kindness. Whatever the reason is though, it’s so heart warming to know that you’re someone’s little ray of sunshine!

    I firmly believe things happen for a reason and this kindness conference is a perfect example! It sounds like you’re in the perfect position to get the most you can out of it. I hope you enjoy it and it’s even more wonderful than you expect it to be.

    Have a very lovely rest of your week and keep up the wonderful work!

    Reply

    • happydancecat
      Jul 22, 2011 @ 17:39:44

      I generally love rainy days too, Sandra, but we have had a whole week of non-stop torential rain and having been caught in it several times with faulty umbrellas and non-waterproof clothing I’m now very ready for some real sunshine!

      Things definitely happen for a reason. Thanks, I hope so too! I’m not really sure what to expect so it will be interesting no matter what. Will definitely let you know how it goes!

      Reply

  4. Eric Winger
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 01:46:53

    Glad your self-made sunshine earned you an invitation. Congrats!

    Reply

  5. Patricia
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 02:07:38

    A kindness conference…looking forward to hearing about it.

    Reply

  6. Roberta
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 03:17:47

    Rain is not a problem for us right now..Just heat! Sending sunshine your way! (:

    Reply

    • happydancecat
      Jul 22, 2011 @ 17:49:42

      Maybe we can do a trade, Roberta! You take a little bit of our colder weather and we’ll take a little of your heat and then we’ll all be perfectly comfortable. 🙂

      Reply

  7. freshrevelations365
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 07:18:03

    This is too funny Cat because today I was actually considering writing about rain because it has been so rainy here in Germany as well. I absolutely love the rain! The sound on my windows, the smell of everything being fresh and new, it’s just amazing to me. Oh and I did do something for myself today. I took at my hair extensions and I am feeling fabulous!! Wishing you the best of luck at the conference. Cannot wait to hear all about it! Take care and I hope that some sunshine is on its way =)

    Reply

    • happydancecat
      Jul 22, 2011 @ 18:00:57

      Great minds think alike, Sarah! Or great countries weather alike … You’re right, rain can be wonderful. When you’re inside its lovely and relaxing to hear the rain while you read a book or go to sleep.

      Do you mean you took out your hair extensions? I imagine that would make you feel quite liberated. Good for you – love your hair as it was intended to be!

      Enjoy your rain!

      Reply

      • freshrevelations365
        Jul 22, 2011 @ 18:23:35

        Yep sorry…lol…just realized I said at not out, but yes I took out my extensions. Yes, it was incredibly liberating. Forgot how good my own hair felt. Still rainy over here in Germany and about 55 or so degrees. Don’t know what’s up with this weather although I am grateful that it is not over 100 like in the states. Hope you have a great rest of your day =)

  8. Kristin Hernandez
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 15:18:32

    Love this:)

    Reply

  9. tinkerbelle86
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 22:58:55

    love singing in the rain! i just wish we could see a little sun here

    Reply

Leave a Reply

