The Power of a Post-It


One of my favourite children’s books is When I’m Feeling Sad by Tracey Maroney. There is a line in the book that describes sadness as something which makes the whole world seem grey and dull and droopy. A perfect explanation of how our mind can shape our reality. And a perfect description of how things looked to me (and probably many others) on September 11th. I didn’t want things to look grey on that day – I wanted to see colour and resilience and joy everywhere. I didn’t want to feel sad, either – I wanted to feel inspired and motivated to perform a beautiful act of kindness on the anniversary of the most unkind act imaginable. But there it was: everywhere I turned, there were grey buildings, grey faces, grey thoughts. Sometimes the sadness and the greyness is just too big.

And then a few days later I remembered that whatever I wanted to see in the world, I could help to create it. If I wanted to be reminded that we live in a beautiful, colourful, joyful world, the best way was to remind others. So armed with some sparkly pens and pretty post-its, my friend K and I waged a kindness campaign against all the most grey and dreary objects we could find. We put love in phone booths, smiles on tables, positivity at bus stops and happiness on park benches …

We imagined people as they sat down at the table, stepped into the booth to make a phone call or sat down to wait for a bus, each one stopping for a moment as they found a little handwritten note. We knew at least some of them would smile. And suddenly, just like that, the world seemed a lot less grey.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pattyabr
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 04:45:34

    thanks for spreading the cheer in a sometimes downer world. We all need to look forward and have hope to make it through another day.

    Reply

  2. Roberta
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 06:29:55

    How fun and what a great idea!

    Reply

  3. Pat Cegan
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 07:12:45

    I just love this idea. So charming and loving. I feel happier just reading that you did this! Hugs, pat

    Reply

  4. Patricia
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 09:29:40

    Lovely…very creative.

    Reply

  5. Lesh Karan
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 12:12:26

    Nice one, my dear! You are truly beautiful xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

