Kindness Army: We Want YOU!

I can’t quite believe that I am now almost six months into my Year of Kindness. Seems like only yesterday I was stumbling through my very first day, offering smiles to strangers and recieving very few in return. I didn’t like all the negativity, selfishness and cruelty I saw all around me. After a long time of feeling frustrated and helpless, I decided I would do something about it. I wanted to prove (to myself as much as anyone else) that despite all the inevitable bad stuff in life, even the smallest acts of good can be powerful in the most unexpected ways and every single person has the power to make the world a kinder place.

Last time I asked for your help I was overwhelmed by how eagerly and wholeheartedly you took on the challenge, spreading little ripples of happiness and positivity all over the world. Wednesday, October 12th will mark the exact halfway point of this project. And I’d like to once again ask for your help with a collective kindness mission. It’s simple: do something kind for a stranger. It does not have to be big, but on the other hand what have you got to lose? Why not challenge yourself to do a kindness that you wouldn’t normally take on? When buying your morning coffee, pay for the person in line behind you. Instead of walking past a homeless person and avoiding eye contact, offer them a sandwich, a smile, a kind word. Trust me, it’s not as scary as it might seem, and there’s a pretty good chance it will lead to an interesting connection you would not have otherwise experienced.

So go forth and be kind, recruits! And be sure to tell us all how you get on.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Roberta
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 06:20:24

    I agree with you wholeheartedly! Kindness works, touch a life and they will pass it on….

    Reply

  2. Linda Cohen
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 10:25:15

    Today is my birthday and I also put out the request for others to do “mitzvahs” or acts of kindness in honor of my birthday. I will take on your challenge for this Wednesday to help you celebrate! I’ll do something that I don’t usually do…Congrats on reaching the halfway mark, I’m guessing you are hooked for life…

    Reply

    • happydancecat
      Oct 18, 2011 @ 19:38:45

      Happy Birthday, Linda! That’s lovely. I’d love to hear what you ended up doing! I am definitely changed for life, much of it becomes second-nature after a while. 🙂

      Reply

  3. Eric Winger
    Oct 11, 2011 @ 03:13:47

    It’s on my calendar!

    Reply

  4. 12 Novels in 12 Months
    Oct 11, 2011 @ 08:47:07

    Count me in! I look forward to reading about everyone’s experiences. Congratulations on reaching the halfway mark! I’d love to read a post about how tis project has changed you.

    Reply

  5. viewsfromsue
    Oct 12, 2011 @ 05:15:01

    I chose to celebrate my birthday in September by having a month of deliberate acts of kindness. I hoped it would have a trickle effect to anyone who read my blog to do something along those lines themselves. I like your idea!!

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Post-Christmas Resolution, Day 292 – Make Time For Lunch Time | Resolve To Give
  7. Eric Winger
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 17:42:44

    Ok, kindness Cat. Here’s my contribution although it wasn’t for a stranger, but it was a bit of a stretch. Albeit a happy stretch.

    http://resolvetogive.wordpress.com/2011/10/12/post-christmas-resolution-day-292-–-make-time-for-lunch-time/

    Happy 6 month anniversary!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

